Ivy – Long Distance

Ivy - Long DIstance (2000)

Ivy - Long Distance (2000)

Indie pop acts usually are not my cup of tea, and even though I have a thing for female vocalist bands and trip hop influenced tunes, this album was not something of particular interest for me.

My opinion about this was biased towards the fact that when you only know about one particular song in an album, you have the feeling that the rest of it will feature mostly bland fillers.  Oh boy, I was so wrong about this, but it was not until months later that for some reason I don’t remember anymore, I decided to figure out what this was all about.

No, it was not a coincidence, probably my gut knew something I didn’t.  But the first time I went through the whole 14 songs I thought nothing special about it, after all this is a 10-year-old record collecting dust in my collection, right? Some time later I went through it again, and although it still felt new and unknown to me, a couple of chorus and hooks started to gain my attention.

Looking back I can’t remember how many times I went through this album, probably 25 to 40 over a period of one year, and something I noticed was that once I got into it, I no longer had the opinion that this was a one song album.  No sir, this is truly a collection of hidden gems just waiting there to be discovered.  Of course, I’m not trying to give you the false impression that this is the greatest album ever made that no one knew about, but rather than that, this is one of those lucky findings in a sea of indie bands.

You might remember Edge of the ocean as the most recognizable track from this album (it was featured in TV shows and some movies after all), and it would be a mistake to judge this album solely based on it, or hope that the entire set of songs are alike.  I found that songs like Undertow, Lucy doesn’t love you, and Blame it on yourself all share a very similar framework around them, and are very enjoyable actually if you are in an easy listening mood.

There are, however, songs that sends this album into a completely different category, and that is what caught my attention.  Edge of the ocean is just the tip of the iceberg, fast forward to songs like I think of you and Hideaway and you are in your way to develop an addiction to the trip hop sound that Dominique Durand’s distinctive voice can pull off.

Fortunately the songs are distributed in an appropriate way, so you will not be left with the impression that you are listening to two different bands in the same album, or two albums from the same band.  The easy listening mood blends in with the more sensuous trip hop side of this album in an unobtrusive manner.

In the end, however, this will always be the underdog album that was never meant to be.  It was released in 2000 and although it is still a very enjoyable album to put in the background while you do something else, its chance to become something more has been long gone.

All that is left is to accept it for what it is, and now that I think about it, maybe that is the way it was meant to be…

Leave a Reply

