The Analog Girl – Sometime Next Galaxy

The Analog Girl - Sometime Next Galaxy (2007)

The Analog Girl – Sometime Next Galaxy (2007)

I remember back then when I first heard of The Analog Girl, I thought it was pure and absolutely genius. I knew right there that I needed to experience the whole thing, so I went on with my business as usual until I finally managed to put my hands on a copy of Sometime Next Galaxy.

Self labeled as laptop-rock (whatever that might be), this Singaporean lady has one of the most driven and unique attitude towards her art. It’s like when you know that certain artist has a peculiar way of doing things, but for some reason you know that deep within them they are not even believing 100% in what they are doing. That’s not the case with The Analog Girl, it’s that belief and self-confidence in what she is doing that keeps the things moving, but is actually a little more than that, things not only move, things gravitate smoothly and fit perfectly in place when needed as well.

I want to be completely honest, and I won’t suggest that Sometime Next Galaxy is some sort of masterpiece and the world needs to stop in order for you to listen to it, but I honestly believe that this album has its fair amount of surprising elements that makes it more than worth listening, even if you’re not fan of whatever the genre this is.

I’m seriously having a hard time trying to describe exactly what genre this should be labeled as you can see, and for those unfamiliar with this album might probably think that this has to be the most bizarre album this side of the milky way, but actually it isn’t. Think of this as some sort of semi-professional, homegrown sound taken to the next level. It’s completely electronic in nature, achieving what I would describe as a rough, darker and underground approach to urban electronic music. There are some rough edges that’s for sure, but instead of looking it as a flaw, it kind of legitimizes those elements as part of the music itself.

The vocal work might not be that consistent through the length of the whole album, I have to admit that it is not one of my favorite aspects of the album, but towards the end of the end you start to get used to it and suits the general tone the album is going for. It is all part of the experience, the feeling the voice imprints on everything might not be brightest, but it sure does a good job matching the difficult to decipher sound. Now we have two things to decipher.

Whoever said that the best music and the most enjoyable experiences come only from the biggest budgets and well-known names is definitely missing on the beauty and unexpected surprises that diversity has for us. Sometime Next Galaxy was unexpected back then, but still keeps surprising me today.

 

Leave a Reply

